What are you looking for in a travel experience? Help us to understand you better

Blue Indigo Cottage Retreat Center

Siem Reap, Cambodia

Blue Indigo Cottage Retreat Center provides a peaceful environment for you to learn or deepen your practice of meditation and yoga with health-oriented meals.

Yoga Teacher Training 1

Limited availability
2 people currently interested

Good

Based on 24 reviews

7 Days 50-Hour Aerial Yoga Teacher Training in Siem Reap, Cambodia

Jan 25-31 | Mar 25-31 | Apr 25-May 1 , 2018

Speaks English

from US$799

Good

Based on 24 reviews
from US$799
Price for:

7 days / 6 nights

Good

Based on 24 reviews

Instructors 2

Edward Pawlak

Yoga Alliance E-RYT 200 (Yoga)

Edward is certified in Ashtanga Vinyasa yoga and Thai massage. Since 2007, he has practiced and taught yoga all over the world, including Bali Eco Lodge and Tushita Meditation Center. Recently, Edward lead several Ulu Yoga weekend wellness retreats in Asia and is happy to bring his program to Blue Indigo in Cambodia.

Antonia Satya

I am a multi-style yoga teacher with long experience in teaching Ashtanga, Hatha, Vinyasa, Yin and other styles of yoga. My level of experience is senior yoga teacher with thousands of hours held over past 15 years. I have my own yoga studio in Croatia. I run several yoga and dance retreats.

Reviews 24

  • Alessia Leonetti Democratic Cambodia

    November 2017, BookYogaTeacherTraining

    Classes and food were really good!

    I would add more fresh fruit to the menu!

  • Zsolt Kovacs Hong Kong

    October 2017, BookYogaTeacherTraining

    Restorative and yin yogas :-) The place is charming, people are lovely. The entire atmosphere is really really good there. Jean the owner gave a good overview right at check in and also gave a warm-hearted farewell at departure.

    Room cleanness is not 100%....spider nets, slightly smelly bed linen and NO AIRCON!! :-(

  • Cat Lamb Australia

    May 2017, BookYogaTeacherTraining

    The atmosphere, all the little touches around the property, Kat was a great teacher. Nina was lovely too - beautiful place. Hammocks were fab.

    Inside the rooms felt very hot.

  • Shue Huang Great Britain

    May 2017, BookYogaTeacherTraining

    Blue Indigo is a very quirky retreat. I highly recommend this if you're look for a place to relax and gather your thoughts. The facilities are basic and not what you'll get in a luxury retreat but it's the simplicity that makes it special.

    The teachers Kat and Laura were fantastic and very knowledgeable. They both added a great relaxed and comforting energy to the place.

    Overall staff at the retreat were lovely and the food was amazing despite it being vegetarian.

    The mango tree! The mangoes were very yummy!

    Sadly, there was some construction going on during my stay, so it was rather noisy.

  • Christine Third Great Britain

    April 2017, BookYogaTeacherTraining

    Very friendly people and excellent teaching. A calm and beautiful place to be.

    Being charged to rent a yoga mat was irritating particularly when they were pretty dirty.

  • Anne-lise Roux France

    November 2017, BookYogaTeacherTraining

    Les cours de yoga étaient très biens, tous les profs sont de vrais passionnés et aiment transmettre. Ils s’adaptent à tous les niveaux.

    Le bungalow m’a beaucoup déçue. Il ne vaut pas le prix. Un vieux matelas tout fin en mousse ne m’a pas permis d’avoir un sommeil récupérateur.

    Si j’avais su, je serais venue pour les cours de yoga mais j’aurais choisi un autre hébergement.

  • Astrid Malamud Democratic Cambodia

    June 2017, BookYogaTeacherTraining

    Las clases fueron muy buenas y como era temporada baja muy personalizadas

  • Maribet Villanueva Philippines.

    BookYogaRetreats website

    My retreat in Blue Indigo Yoga Retreat Center was fun. Great food! Great yoga teachers and staff.

    I wish they do something about the mosquitoes.

  • Hannah Cambodia

    BookYogaRetreats

    This place had a few things going for it, including excellent food, and lots of classes on offer. But I was disappointed in some of the teachers. Around 50% were excellent, but there were a few who definitely seemed very inexperienced. It also wasn't clear to me who was running the place, I think most of the teachers are volunteers?

    It makes it seem as though there is a yoga class in a pagoda/among the ruins at Siem Reap included in the retreat, but you have to pay 45 USD extra for this, which is pretty hefty cash in Cambodia.

    I also slept super badly because my room was very bright and full of mosquitoes. I would have left earlier if we didn't have to pay cash in advance and they hadn't taken so long to do my laundry. Generally a weird energy in this place. But great food for sure.

    Management Response from Blue Indigo Cottage Retreat Center:

    Dear Hannah Chapman,

    Thank you for your comment. In response, we have 2 teachers and the rest are volunteers but all of them are certified but we can’t satisfy everyone, can we?

    For the trip to the pagoda the guests has a participation of 6 USD, of which the money goes as donation for the blessing ceremony and for the boat ride, please note that we don’t receive anything from it.Please also note that the price paid in a shared twin room with 7 yoga classes (each classes cost 5 USD) per day with breakfast (5 USD) and lunch(5 USD) and your accommodation, which makes a total of 45 USD making your room 5 USD/day. Therefore, we can’t see how we can add temple visits for free with 37 USD for a day (ticket to the temples) and transport of 18 USD for full day visit fit in the amount you paid.

    I would like to apologize in the name of all the mosquitoes of Cambodia.

    The payment to pay in advance is everywhere,in general it's the same whether it’s a retreat or a hotel.The reason why the laundry came late, is that the young lady is a self worker, I don't know the reason for that.

    At last, a quote of the day for your energy "what you see in others is just a reflection of yourself "

    Good luck in your future.

    Namaste, thank you for crossing our path and being part of the 0.01% unsatisfied people.

    Sincerely yours, Blue Indigo Team

  • Kylee Australia

    BookYogaRetreats

    Blue Indigo was amazing, their teachers are all beautiful souls and willing to help your journey at every turn. The program was packed full of classes and they also went to the effort of teaching the background theory for those who wanted to learn. The accommodation and food is basic but lovely. Would recommended to anyone needing a relaxing break!

  • Anonymous

    BookYogaRetreats

    Not to sound like a snob, but I'm someone with yoga experience and have practiced many years with world renowned senior teachers and previous retreats were always with specific teachers that I follow. I found this place using BookYogaRetreats.com and knew there was a risk not knowing the caliber of yoga instruction but I came with an open mind. That said, my opinion is that this should be regarded as a B&B with optional basic yoga classes. If you want a TRUE yoga retreat, this is not for you. If you are an advanced yogi, this is not for you. It just got started, so they are finding their way and improvements need to be made.

    LOCATION - Excellent. It's a sweet oasis away from bustling Siem Reap but a short tuk tuk ride away from tourist attractions.

    FACILITIES - Very Good. I found the decor charming and we got the only room with AC since my partner really wanted AC. We had a lot of space and it was quiet because of concrete walls. Note that the wooden cottages have no sound insulation. Room was cleaned every day and the bed was comfortable. I slept very well! Also liked the gazebo where you can relax on the hammocks. This is not a luxury resort so don't expect that. Due to the AC, power shortage happened every day when we tried to use the tankless water heater for showers.

    FOOD - Delicious!! Looked forward to breakfast and lunch everyday and it's better than some of the local restaurants outside. Drooling as I think about it now...

    STAFF - it's a family run retreat center so it's not what you would expect from a professional hotel. The booking process leaves a lot to be desired as it required many emails to get confirmation that we're booked. Nina, who is the daughter of the owners is just a young girl but seems to be doing all the administrative work as well as teaching aerial yoga! The kitchen and cleaning staff was lovely...friendly and very capable. Mr Samai, the resident tuktuk driver, was awesome. True that it was hard to find people to ask questions sometimes but in the end we always found answers and things worked out. So you have to have an easy going attitude about it all. Patrick, in particular always shared meals with us and provided friendly advice and suggestions when asked.

    YOGA INSTRUCTION - A mixed bag ranging from dreadful to delightful. The saving grace was Laura. If Blue Indigo wants to be successful, they need to hire and retain more like her and give her more than just one flow class per day. She was the only authentic teacher there. There was one teacher that was just a joke. Taught things wrong and didn't even know how to do poses himself. After the first day, we just avoided his classes altogether. I wanted to walk out of one that we accidentally went to but didn't out of respect - that's how awful it was. Also, completely unapproachable and unfriendly which is not usually how a yoga teacher should be (at least not what I'm used to) Again, think of this place as your cozy base to explore Siem Reap with opportunity to do some basic yoga classes but do not go FOR yoga.

    In short, you'll have a relaxing time there if you let go of expecting certain things. The people you meet is what will make it cool. We met some people that were great and would continue to keep in touch with.

  • Stephanie

    BookYogaRetreats

    The yoga retreat in Blue Indigo Cottage Retreat Center was really good! We enjoyed it so much. The environment provides a relaxing condition for us to learn and practice yoga. The teachers there are professional, especially. Mr Krishna Raja. We only stayed for 3 days and thus we could not learn too much at once. Krishna sent us email with the yoga theory notes so that we could learn more and practise out of the class. The combination of theory and actual practice is very enjoyable. Food are very nice and yum there!

  • Renee Letourneau

    BookYogaRetreats

    Such a nice escape from the city to reconnect with your body and your mind. All of the teachers held great, diverse, classes and genuinely cared about what they were teaching. The buildings themselves are beautifully declared and the whole area is peaceful and charming. I spent a week there and loved every minute of it.

  • Lily Japan

    BookYogaRetreats website

    Overview: Poorly managed yoga retreat. Positive side: Yoga classes three times a day, skillful yoga teachers, yoga education everyday (learn basic education about yoga which very useful for beginner), delicious vegetarian breakfast and lunch, experience yoga in Ankor Wat temple, experience blessing ceremony by Cambodian monks. Negative side: Accommodation was very poor. I paid double for my personal room but I found that it was very poorly prepared like no hot water and mosquitoes were everywhere (not only in the room but also in yoga area) with no attempt from organizers to handle the issue. Organizer forgot to provide ordered juice for dinner on the second night which left me starving, Meditation teacher was very poor in delivering the lecture which sometimes misleading students. I could not meditated in the retreat area because of mosquitoes, and loud noise of construction work beside the retreat area. The organizers was not available in two emergencies situation that happened during the retreat. We need to reach the yoga teacher to be able to solve the issues. There is a sewage rat in the bathroom and one of the retreat member were robbed and attacked by motorcycle which left her hurt and lost her properties such as passport and credit card.

  • Julie Zito

    BookYogaRetreats website

    The yoga instructors were absolutely fantastic. Thank you Jade and Nina. But everything else was terrible. The manager, Jean, a Frenchman, was rude, arrogant not helpful at all. No welcome drink in the 36 degree heat and when we needed assistance he was more concerned with playing computer games on his laptop. The food was limited in every way imaginable, not a detox retreat as advertised. The beds were rock hard on wheels and unstable. We only lasted three days. The best part was we had to walk past a restaurant called the Angkor Secret Garden Inn and the owner there was so much more friendlier and helpful. We actually felt more welcome there than at the retreat. Thank you Sensai. Sad that this is my first bad review.

  • Kirby Lorenzen

    BookYogaRetreats website

    Blue Indigo Cottage is amazing! The grounds are beautiful, even more so than is displayed in pictures. They've created a wonderfully calm and serene atmosphere for guests. The cottages are quaint, cute and functional with surprisingly few bugs. The food was incredible!! Excellent quality and variety. The staff was great and always willing to make accommodations/help my sister and I with anything we needed. As for the yoga courses, I felt very comfortable with instructors and other participants even though I'm a beginner and am very inflexible. Instructors were also helpful and mindful in giving me substitute poses when I mentioned that I can't put much weight on my wrists. The classes were fantastic! I learned a lot and enjoyed how the teachings and poses progressed throughout my 3-day stay. Shout-out to Nina for being so sweet and helpful when I had trouble during flying yoga!! I do wish we had been able to have the yoga lecture that occurs mid-morning, but during the time I was in attendance, they were apparently short-staffed for an instructor to teach this. Understandable, but they might benefit by better communicating this in the future or maybe reducing the price a smidge since my sister and I were expecting 3 classes a day. I left feeling super relaxed, well-fed and armed with new knowledge on yoga techniques/poses used around the world. Overall, I'm very impressed and would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Vlad Butiu Romania

    BookYogaRetreats website

    I write this review after one month, and I write it with the same feeling or as if it was yesterday. I am a 28 year old Romanian guy living in China, and I was looking for five days off too clear my mind and immerse myself in yoga practice. Booking Blue Indigo proved to be more than I was looking for. I found Blue Indigo to be a place so welcoming and friendly, that five days proved to bee to short. It started from my arrival when Jan (the owner) welcomed me with a big smile at midnight and showed me my cozy cottage. The next day early 6 a.m. I meet Jade, our yoga teacher, she was an inspiration and made me look forward to her every class or lecture. And at breakfast I meet Patrik, organizational manager, who was what I felt in a state of mindfulness and carefully observing what everyone was needing. Therefore in five days stay I haven't missed anything. It's a great place made by great people, and I hope I could bring some of my friends there one day.

  • Michele Tiefenthaler

    BookYogaRetreats website

    We really enjoyed our stay in Blue Indigo and were very happy with the service and the good people there! We also want to say thank you in this way for all the good energy of every single person (including kitchen stuff!).

  • Lianne Netherlands

    BookYogaRetreats

    Natuurlijk wil ik dat! Hier mijn recensie voor het retreat center in Cambodja:

    Ik verbleef samen met een vriendin voor 4 dagen in dit retraitecentrum. Voor ons beiden was dit de eerste keer dat we in contact kwamen met yoga en we zijn erg positief uit deze rustige oase gekomen! Het dagelijks uiteenlopende programma stond ons erg aan. Van lectures, meditatie, tot discussies en allerlei verschillende soorten yogalessen. Daarnaast was onze cottage erg fijn en schoon. Het eten was fantastisch! Alles was vers en iedere dag was er genoeg om uit te kiezen. We raden deze yoga retraite zeker aan als je een beginnende yoga'er bent en als je een beperkt budget hebt.

  • Frédérique France

    BookYogaRetreats

    Un beau potentiel sur la voie

    Le blue indigo cottage est niché au bout d'une impasse légèrement excentré. On n'y vient pas par hasard.

    Le lieu est une enclave de verdure joliment décorée

    Les chambres sont simples, décorées dans le même esprit que le lieu.

    L'offre de yoga est dense. Ensuite La qualité des cours dépend du professeur et de votre affinité avec La pratique proposée mais le point fort du yoga est qu'on découvre toujours des choses si on accepte d'être â l'écoute.

    Les cours théoriques sont intéressants car cela donne du sens et de la profondeur à sa pratique

    Les salles de pratique sont sympathiques et varient selon la journée. Il est important de prévoir que l'option bikram est souvent fournie d'office, en période chaude

    Les repas sont de qualité et la cuisinière et son assistante très serviables

    Mes réserves sont des points qui n'auront peut-être plus lieu d'être cités dans quelques temps

    L'accueil des propriétaires est réduit au minimum requis, ce qui est dommage car l'esprit guest house est d'accorder autant d'attention aux guests qu'à la house. Ce sont eux qui contribuent à donner l'âme au lieu. Cela est d'autant plus dommage qu'au maximum de l'affluence nous étions 4, donc facile d'avoir une attention même infime pour chacun. Je mettrai cela sur le compte que La pleine saison ouvre mi décembre et qu'ils étaient accaparés par leurs travaux. Tout est donc soumis à une possible évolution positive rapide.

    Enfin non négligeable (La guest house n'en est pas responsable) : le bruit.

    Nous sommes en ville. Un immeuble se construit à côté et les marteaux piqueurs et autres bétonnières peuvent s'en donner à cœur joie. Et surtout le plaisir de la fin de semaine ce sont les mariages. Pris dans l'enthousiasme de la conjugalité future ils attaquent avec entrain â 6h voire 5h du matin les psalmodies et autres musiques pour éteindre vers 20h/21h.

    Le point positif est que ces désagréments sonores éprouvent notre capacité de sérénité et de concentration. Ces désagréments sont certainement passagers.

    Le blue indigo est un beau lieu à Angkor avec un positionnement de niche. Il offre un beau complément aux temples (ma recommandation prenez le temps de les visiter avant ou après sinon vous allez courir tout le temps, ce qui n'est pas le but).

    Après quelques ajustements, ce sera le vrai hâvre de paix qu'il aspire à être.

Testimonials 5

  • Kehkahsan Nadeem Pakistan

    Blue Indigo Cottage website

    Ulu Yoga Teacher Training is one of a kind and is unique in its own way. I have been practicing and teaching yoga over the past 16 years. As I am an enthusiast for new yoga techniques and styles, Ulu yoga caught my attention the very moment I saw its advertisement. My 9 days training were amazing. In a peaceful and serene surroundings of Thong Nai Pan Yai village, in Koh Phangan, Thailand, Ulu Yoga Training takes you to an unforgettable experience of Aerial yoga practice and teaching. Edward Pawlak (Teacher) guides you step by step to a safe, detailed and challenging practice. Not only various styles taught, but a variety of usage of the swing are given. I had a wonderful experience learning and sharing our practice, love and happiness. Met some wonderful humans that inspired me once again in my life. Thank you all for being an important part of my life’s journey

  • Svetlana Romanenko Ukraine

    Blue Indigo Cottage website

    I attended Ulu Yoga Aerial Yoga Teacher Training in Koh Phangan, Thailand. Jan 15-23, 2017. It was an amazing time with a wonderful group and great teacher. It was so much fun and I learned so much. Everyday we had 7 hours of aerial class, including acro , aerial Hatha, choreography , performance , making ropes and own swings , teaching practice, plus incredible photoshoots at the waterfall and beach. I could do everything with no experience. Plus the location is so beautiful. There is a perfect long beach with mountains and the studio is deep in huge green jungle with so many animals and life. We were really inspired and brought all our creativity to make our own original class and choreography. I feel more flexible, strong, energetic and happy because now I can fly and share this experience with my future students! I recommend so much you take this course!

  • Saman Pourzanjani Iran

    Blue Indigo Cottage website

    I am a bit lazy to doing yoga. But when I went to ULU YOGA classes I liked everything about it. It was really good for body, all the stretches that I couldn’t do it before, I did much easier with aerial swings. And it was also fun. Which is why I like it far better than other styles of yoga. I could fly in ULU YOGA classes. It was really awesome feeling. Edward is a really good teacher, otherwise it wasn’t possible to have this great feeling about his classes. He shares his excitement with you and make you to really want to do your best in every move. He really enjoys doing aerial yoga, which makes you enjoy it too.

  • Viktoriia Glinka Ukraine

    Blue Indigo Cottage website

    I attended ULU Yoga Aerial Yoga Teacher Training in Koh Phangan, Thailand. Jan 15-23, 2017. I loved ULU Yoga’s Aerial TTC. It was so much fun and I learned so much. Everyday we had 7 hours of aerial class, including acro yoga, choreography and performance, teaching practice, plus incredible photoshoots at the waterfall and beach. Location is so beautiful! There is a perfect long beach with mountains and the studio is deep in huge green jungle with so many animals and life. It was very nice asleep and wake up to the sound of the waterfall. Every morning was tasty breakfast. Island has a powerful and clean energy. It’s relax for body and soul. I feel more flexible, strong, energetic and happy because now I can fly! I recommend so much you take this course.

  • a Traveler

    Blue Indigo Cottage website

    It was for me a challenge to do this incredible Aerial Teacher Training Course. Eddy is indeed professional, perfectionist, with an intense schedule of 10 hours per day, very complete; where we spent most of our time practicing, it was excellent. The theories are at the same time explained. With lots of warmth in this group and an amazing exterior class. Eddy for the moment great, your passion and your attention to others, enforces admiration. Kisses to you all who did the TTC at Blue Indigo and I’m sure to be ready to do another one!

Spread the love

Share Blue Indigo Cottage Retreat Center's page and retreats with your network